Home Programs Social Welfare Zakat (Obligatory Charity)
Zakat (Obligatory Charity)
AddThis Social Bookmark Button

Hidaya collects and distributes Zakat donations per Shariah (Islamic Law) guidelines as mentioned in Chapter 9: Verse 60 in Al Quran.


Zakat funds are used to support orphans, widows, poor elderly, families in extreme poverty, poor young women for marriage, deserving students, poor medical patients, and people affected by disasters.

The projects where Zakat donations are utilized are: No Orphan without Education, Job Skills Training, Spread Education, Support Hidaya Schools, Hidaya Institute of Farming and Agriculture, Clean Drinking Water, Medical Assistance, Medical Camps, Basic Computer Skills, Network Administration Training, Software Development Training, System Administration Training, Animal Farming, Farmer Assistance, Small Businesses for the Poor, Disaster Relief, Marriage Support, Widow/Orphan Support, One Million Meals, and Zakat Distribution.


The proper distribution of Zakat is a personal responsibility. It is better for an individual to pay his/her Zakat directly to deserving people, if possible. However, if that is difficult for them, then they may assign the responsibility to a trustworthy individual or organization.
Note: For any Zakat related questions, kindly visit the following link: All About Zakat.
1 2015 Update
2 2014 Report
3 Zakat Distribution Real Life Stories
4 Who Receives Zakat?
5 Why Should I Give Zakat?

Sitara-e-Isaar Awarded to Hidaya Foundation

The partner organization of Hidaya Trust, Hidaya Foundation was awarded Sitara-i-Eisaar (Star of Sacrifice) by the Government of Pakistan, in recognition of the results-oriented relief efforts of both the organizations during the 2005 earthquake in Pakistan. It was awarded during a special ceremony held at the Embassy of Pakistan in Washington, DC.

In Keeping with our commitment to the communities in which Hidaya Trust operates, it hires its work force as an equal opportunity employer.  It means that employment decisions are based on merit and business needs and not on race, color, status in the society, ancestry, sex, age, religion, creed and marital status.